Degree Requirements

Master of Fine Arts Degree Requirements

Requirements for the M.F.A. in Creative Writing include

  • Four graduate courses in literature, English or American.
  • Four graduate courses (12 hours) in creative writing.
  • No more than six hours may be taken at the 600-level.
  • Seven to nine hours in electives or practica, chosen from graduate courses in the Department of English, or approved courses in another department.
  • English 899, Thesis (15 hours). Original writing in prose fiction, poetry, drama, or nonfiction prose.

Contact Info

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Anna Neill, Chair
785-864-2521
aneill@ku.edu
Laura Mielke, Associate Chair
785-864-2578
lmielke@ku.edu

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Kathryn Conrad, Director, Undergraduate Studies
785-864-2572
kconrad@ku.edu
Frank Farmer, Director, First- and Second-Year English
785-864-2507
farmerf@ku.edu

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Giselle Anatol, Director of Graduate Studies
785-864-2522
ganatol@ku.edu
Why KU
  • One of 34 public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 2nd in the nation for prestigious faculty Fulbright awards
  • 26 Rhodes scholars
  • Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
  • One of 9 public universities with outstanding study abroad programs. U.S. News and World Report