Honors

Departmental Honors

To be admitted to the English Honors major program, an undergraduate student must have earned a 3.25 overall grade-point average, and a 3.5 grade-point average in English courses. The student should declare an English major, if enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, or an English concentration, if enrolled in the School of Business or the School of Education.

Honors English majors must complete at least 1 section of ENGL 598 Honors Proseminar: _____ and ENGL 599 Honors Essay. This requirement, in effect, adds 3 hours of capstone-level coursework to the student’s emphasis.

Contact Info

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Anna Neill, Chair
785-864-2521
aneill@ku.edu
Laura Mielke, Associate Chair
785-864-2578
lmielke@ku.edu

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Kathryn Conrad, Director, Undergraduate Studies
785-864-2572
kconrad@ku.edu
Frank Farmer, Director, First- and Second-Year English
785-864-2507
farmerf@ku.edu

Department of English

Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001
Lawrence, KS 66045-7594
785-864-4520
english@ku.edu
http://www.english.ku.edu/
Giselle Anatol, Director of Graduate Studies
785-864-2522
ganatol@ku.edu
Why KU
  • One of 34 public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 2nd in the nation for prestigious faculty Fulbright awards
  • 26 Rhodes scholars
  • Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
  • One of 9 public universities with outstanding study abroad programs. U.S. News and World Report